Horizon Public Health

About Us

In January of 2015, with the launch of Horizon Public Health, local policy makers affirmed their commitment to assuring a strong public health system in our communities through the development and implementation of Horizon Public Health, an integrated 5-county Public Health Department that now serves residents of the counties of Douglas, Grant, Pope, Stevens and Traverse. This newly created Public Health Department resulted from the merger of the former Douglas County, Pope County and Stevens Traverse Grant Public Health Departments. It is governed by a 13-member Board comprised of 11 county commissioners from the 5 counties along with 2 community representatives.

Now a staff of 90 employees, Horizon Public Health is comprised of Public Health Nurses, Health Educators, Registered Sanitarians, Dieticians, Social Workers, Intake Nurses, Home Health Aides, Volunteers, Administration, Finance and Support Staff, all of whom are well trained, highly skilled and totally committed to providing the highest quality services in the most effective and efficient manner possible. With offices located in all 5 counties, these staff are engaged with the local activities, events, and communities activities and people. And so, while the name of the Public Health Department has changed, the faces and the offices and the programs and services have not.

County Information

Main Office:
Douglas County
809 Elm Street, Suite 1200
Alexandria, MN 56308
Grant County
10 First Street NW
Elbow Lake, MN 56531
Pope County
211 East Minnesota Avenue
Glenwood, MN 56334
Stevens County
10 East Hwy 28
Morris, MN 56267
Traverse County
202 8th Street North
Wheaton, MN 56296